Picture
photo credits to: about.com
A mother of two beautiful girls, each uniquely different from the other, can be such a great challenge.  I guess being a single parent worsens the situation.  All mothers would want to buy the latest styled clothes for their girls.  But looking for the budget for such can sometimes be very tricky.

We are all aware that women’s fashion can be as fast changing as the way women make decisions or choices.  Thus, under limited circumstances, buying clothes is a major event in a mother’s life.  So, through the years, I had developed certain rules on acquiring clothes for my girls.

Iron-free clothes

I go to great extend to convince my girls to choose iron-free clothes so we can keep our electricity bill down.  Now, how do I do this?  Simple!  I just keep reminding them that the ironing opens chances for ruining the clothes.  There would surely be creases I will not be able to iron enough.  And there are the daydream burns, mobile phone call burns, and remembered-something burns as well. 

Another tactic is looking at them with tired eyes and whispering, but loud enough for them to hear, how much time I’ll have to allocate ironing the dress.  The ironing board, due to its long years of service, can at times have bumps which are difficult to manage when ironing women’s clothing.  More time, I would lament until something works with the girls.  If the first ploy does not work, the second surely will!

Hoarding and recycling

I would ask my ladies, on a quarterly basis, to give me the clothes that they have grown tired of wearing.  In the guise of donating it to some charity needing women’s clothing, I would neatly fold and keep it in a box at the attic.  There was a time when my eldest daughter discovered my hidden treasure.

To appease her hurt feelings of being deceived, I gave her the following reasons:

·         The women’s fashion keeps coming back in cycles.
·         Women’s clothing usually fit again with the dawning of modern diets.
·         Shirts, trousers and pants may be remodeled or altered for certain occasions.

Bargain hunting

As much as possible, I buy clothes on bargain.  I always tell the girls that the money you save can be used for accessories that can transform the clothes to be trendy.  I always remind them that we should learn to spend money on what matters.  As they are still in college, then education is our top priority.

I assured my girls that they can buy all the clothes they like when they finish their education and land a stable job.  They have all the right to enjoy the fruits of their labour anyway.  But for now, we need to be practical and live within our means.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.